FOTD Flashback: MAC Raspberry Swirl and NARS Sin (11/09/2013)

Photos taken on the first day back in school for the second trimester of this academic year! This was a Wednesday and my boyfriend picked me up for school because my car was on number coding that day, so I did my makeup in the car instead (hence my makeup-less OOTD) as I almost always do when he’s the one driving to school. I was running late—again, as I almost always do—and I simply had no time to ponder about what lipstick and blush shade looked best with my outfit, so I grabbed the safest shade possible for my skin tone: pink lipstick matched with plum-toned blush!

Please click the thumbnails for the larger versions of the photos (links to high-res versions are within the gallery).

Similar to what I said in my last FOTD post about how peach and coral tones are, pink shades also are extremely versatile, making them an indispensable staple of makeup kits for several skin tones. The trick to wearing them successfully is to simply find the right shade of pink that goes best with your color, and when putting on blush, using the correct type of brush in addition to practicing the right amount of pressure to apply!

In my case, I chose MAC Raspberry Swirl (of the MAC Baking Beauties collection) and NARS Sin, two of my newest acquisitions during that time. I was honestly hesitant about grabbing MAC Raspberry Swirl because I didn’t want to look like Nicki Minaj especially on my first day of school—not that I hate her, but eeehhhhh I think her look just wouldn’t flatter me—but thankfully I didn’t. It actually came out as more of a sheerer, much lighter, and lavender-ish-yet-still-yellow-toned MAC Chatterbox on me, which isn’t a bad thing at all; I just really disliked how my lips’ dead skin and lines looked emphasized due to the cremesheen finish, but that was my fault since my lips weren’t neatly exfoliated that day. :roll:

NARS Sin appeared more like a warmer pink instead of a darker frosty plum on my cheeks due to how I used a very light hand in applying it with the Sigma Beauty F40 Large Contour Brush. This made NARS Sin look a bit similar to NARS Mata Hari from my last post, but trust me: they aren’t similar at all. See the difference that can be caused by the weight you put using your own hands, in addition to the types of brushes you use? :)

My OOTD was more “over-the-top” compared to the usual because… well, it’s a first-day-back-in-school self-imposed tradition. I get lazier as the school days pass by, though. Lol. Loose black top from Zara, printed monochrome  tube skirt from Zara Trafaluc, turquoise blue high-heeled wedge sandals from Zalora, turquoise blue triangle earrings from Zalora, turquoise blue dress necklace from Zalora, Bradshaw oversized wristwatch in yellow gold by Michael Kors, new Wayfarer sunglasses in dark brown tortoise shell by Ray-Ban, new Wayfarer eyeglasses in medium brown tortoise shell by Ray-Ban, and medium Jet Set open-top tote in cream by Michael Kors.

Cosmetics Used

  • FACE
    • Benefit The POREfessional
    • MAC Studio Fix Concealer with SPF 35 in NW20
    • MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation in NC35
    • MAC Select Sheer Pressed in NC30
  • EYEBROWS
    • Benefit Brow Zings! in medium
  • LIPS
    • MAC Prep + Prime Lip
    • MAC Raspberry Swirl cremesheen lipstick
  • CHEEKS
    • NARS Sin powder blush
  • HAIR
    • TIGI Bed Head Control Freak Serum
4 thoughts on “FOTD Flashback: MAC Raspberry Swirl and NARS Sin (11/09/2013)

  1. None of the products in the Baking Beauties collection really sang to me but wow the lipstick looks really good on you! (You might wanna try MAC Mehr, I have a feeling it’ll suit you really well too!) You look really great. =)

Leave a Reply

