FOTD Flashback: MAC Angel and Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Amused (21/09/2013)

Ever felt so bored that you did a full makeup look for a trip to the grocery store? Yep, I have, and this was one of those days! I have to admit, though… I might have had an ulterior motive for my slightly-more-than-the-usual makeup look, because don’t you just hate it when you go makeup shopping wearing your bare (or extremely minimally made up) face and some of the salesladies who aren’t familiar with you act as if you’re completely clueless about cosmetics? Or worse, when they don’t pay you any attention at all because they feel as if you’re not the type to make a purchase at a makeup boutique anyway? Not that I’m saying all salesladies are as such (I’ve made friends with plenty of salesladies), but it was a discussion topic on Temptalia before and I would really prefer to minimize the chances of getting into a similar encounter because that won’t do my blood pressure any good. :lol:

…now, why the sudden tirade about makeup shopping and snooty salesladies if I were just going to the grocery store? Simply because this was the day after my saleslady-friend from MAC Cosmetics sent me an SMS to notify me about the arrival of my much-awaited MAC Retro Matte Fall 2013 collection, and, well, you do the maths lol. Unfortunately, since I’m not a morning person, I was able to go to to MAC in the afternoon despite planning to go in the morning. That left me lacking the “Runway Hit” lipstick and the “Fashion Boost” Pro Longwear lip pencil from my collection, which ultimately sucked (but I was able to get hold of them a few days after, thanks to my other saleslady friends from the other branches of MAC Cosmetics, ha ha!). I’ll make a post on that collection soon BTW, I promise!

Please click the thumbnails for the larger versions of the photos (links to high-res versions are within the gallery).

It is common knowledge that countless celebrities and stylists have opted for a “pop of color”—in accessories such as jewelry, belts, bags, or shoes—to complete a dull-colored outfit. What is unbeknownst to many is that the color scheme of the makeup worn can also play a huge part in bringing monochrome or neutral-hued outfits to life, so avoid wearing pale nude makeup as much as possible if your outfit’s color theme is as bland!

On my lips, I wore the MAC Angel, a light yellow-toned pink with a frost finish. It’s one of MAC’s bestsellers and also one of the most popularized MAC lipsticks in Hollywood.

For my blush, I wore Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Amused, a matte bright pink that looks so bright in the pan, it would probably scare away those who aren’t too fond of bright shades. If you’re one of them, I’m telling you… don’t be. It’s all in the way you apply the blush and the type of makeup brush you use. Your skin tone, too, of course, but that’s already a given.

On my eyelashes, I used MAC Prep + Prime Lash prior to Benefit They’re Real mascara. The lash primer makes so much difference, because it doesn’t only make the mascara last longer—it also makes the lashes appear much thicker without noticeable weight. On my lower waterline, I used MAC Technakohl Liner in Graphblack. I’ve read somewhere that doing your eyeliner halfway through is a no-no, but I’d like to believe that it works for me, so why not? ;)

Cosmetics Used

  • FACE
    • MAC Prep + Prime Skin Smoother
    • MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
    • MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC20
    • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium
  • EYEBROWS
    • MAC Eye Brows in Brunette
    • MAC Brow Set in Beguile
  • EYELASHES
    • MAC Prep + Prime Lash
    • Benefit They’re Real! mascara
  • EYES
    • MAC Technakohl Liner in Graphblack
  • LIPS
    • MAC Prep + Prime Lip
    • MAC Angel frost lipstick
  • CHEEKS
    • Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Amused
  • HAIR
    • TIGI Bed Head Cocky Thickening Paste

12 thoughts on “FOTD Flashback: MAC Angel and Tarte Amazonian Clay Blush in Amused (21/09/2013)

  1. Ooohhhh, those type of salesladies. They make me want to punch something or someone (haha bad anger management lol). But really, most of them annoy me so ugh, whatever. Lol anyway, you used a lot–and really, a LOT of MAC products (not that I’m complaining, hehe). Love the blush. I might purchase that. Thanks for this. Lovely blog, btw <3

    • I know, right!? I haven’t encountered one in a long while but I sure as hell would throw a fit if someone treats me that way. :| Thank you! Glad you appreciate it. x

Leave a Reply

