Wish List Item: MAC Stroke of Midnight Lip Bag in Violet

Some time around mid-2011, I bought my very first own MAC lipstick. I was merely 17 then, and I felt as if I already took a huge step towards womanhood because of my lovely lipstick in R… ehhhh. I’ll make a separate blog post about that later. Suspense. ;)

…anyway! Even though I started collecting MAC lipsticks beginning that purchase, I remained completely clueless about limited edition collections and shades until a long period of time after—I mean, I knew they released new shades every now and then, but I had no idea so many of them were coveted by makeup junkies worldwide because of the extremely limited time they were available for public consumption! Talk about hot commodity! A few years ago I probably would have mocked the superficiality of such an obsession, but I certainly am not in the place to do that now. :roll:

Amplified Creme lipstick in Dark Deed, Cremesheen Glass in Art of Seduction, and Lip Pencil in Vino

Limited edition Stroke of Midnight makeup purse, Amplified Creme lipstick in Dark Deed, Cremesheen Glass in Art of Seduction, and Lip Pencil in Vino

The Stroke of Midnight collection is one of the three limited edition holiday collections released by MAC this year (the rest are Divine Night and RiRi Hearts MAC Holiday 2013, if I’m correct). There are a lot of other sets in the collection, but the lip bag in violet struck me the most! My affinity for purple-hued lip and cheek shades got me wishing this set was a lip and cheek set instead, though—I would have loved an additional blush to go with the lipstick, not to mention a lip brush and a blush brush.

Scroll down for the individual photos of the items included in the set!

Dark Deed Amplified Creme Lipstick

Dark Deed Amplified Creme Lipstick

Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

Art of Seduction Cremesheen Glass

Vino Lip Pencil

Vino Lip Pencil

The MAC Dark Deed amplified creme lipstick is described as a “darkened blood red” on the MAC website. I don’t know about you, but I am ALWAYS attracted to sultry, vampy lipstick colors. There’s something about them that screams bold and sexy but never too much. How could I not fall for this one? Besides, I don’t have shades like these in the amplified creme finish, anyway… :P

The MAC Art of Seduction cremesheen glass is described as a “cool nude with gold frost.” I just recently started collecting MAC’s lip glosses (the last time I was a fan of lip gloss was in my high school junior or senior year, I think—I can’t believe that was 3-4 years ago already) and I think this would make a great addition to my vanity since I don’t have a similar shade yet.

The MAC Vino lip pencil is described as an “intense violet purple,” which confused me at first since I know violet shades are light and blue-toned while purple shades are much darker and warmer. Regardless, the swatches I saw online were absolutely lovely so I think this is a steal. It seems a bit similar to MAC Talk That Talk Pro Longwear Lip Pencil from the RiRi Hearts MAC Fall 2013 based on the skin swatches though (I have no idea how the two compare when applied on the lips), but it’s okay since I’m really fond of shades like this anyway—I don’t think I’m ever going to run out of uses for them.

I asked my aunt from New York to get me this as a Christmas present last Saturday, and I found out she bought online already the moment I sent her the link. They’re arriving on the last week of December. Thank you, Auntie Linda! I CAN’T WAIT! :D

P.S. Special thanks to Christine Mielke of Temptalia for lending me the last 3 images on this post! You may read her review of the MAC Stroke of Midnight Lip Bag (Violet) here.

7 thoughts on “Wish List Item: MAC Stroke of Midnight Lip Bag in Violet

  1. Ermagehrrrd! Haha. I have my eyes on this collection! I really want the Nude Eye Bag. I haven’t bought anything from MAC yet (holding on to MAC virginity for something awesome) and I hope this would be my first MAC purchase! Although now that I think about it, I think lip products would last longer and be more memorable. :)

    • I think so too, because MAC rose to fame with their lipsticks! You should go for one of their bestselling lipstick shades that appeals the most to you. I bet there’s a very little likelihood of you regretting it. ;)

      • Thanks! Still debating on what shade to get – it’s a toss up between a classic red and something plummy/vampy :D Aaaand I noticed somethiiing – we are such late sleepers! LOL. Have a good night’s sleep! :)

      • Viva Glam I or Dubonnet are supposedly two of MAC’s bestselling and most versatile reds. I’d definitely recommend Rebel or Diva for something plum or vampy, though—they’re all time favorites. :lol:

        Yeah, I have a horrible case of a messed up body clock actually. I also hate how it’s giving me breakouts. :( Good night to you, too!

Leave a Reply

