FOTD: MAC Pink Pearl Pop and NARS Orgasm (25/10/2013)

Greetings from the resurrected! :lol: So, this is my first FOTD  in a really long time because to be honest, I had looked like total crap for the past 2 or 3 weeks (or 4 weeks, even). I was so busy that I hardly had the time to prep up anymore, and during the very few times that I did, I didn’t have the energy (or time, again) to take photos at all. The horror! I never thought thesis would be able to do this to me. :|

Anyway, the day I took these (2 days ago) was the day of our thesis proposal deadline, and I almost regretted that I did. My group finished the night before (minus the APA references list) and I was lucky enough that my 8AM class was a free cut, but most of the rest of the day was a series of unfortunate events—I forgot my laptop at home and I had to drive all the way back home to get it (good thing I didn’t take a cab that day or else it would’ve been worse) so I ended up being more than an hour late for the meeting with my thesis mates; we crammed the double-checking process of the references list; and lastly, we missed the 4PM deadline by a mere 3-4 minutes and thought we wouldn’t be able to submit anymore. Thank God our thesis coordinator was very considerate! If only I had photos to commemorate our priceless facial expressions before and after the coordinator simply replied a “yeah sure” to our “miss may we still submit?” inquiry. I swear the word “ecstatic” is an understatement to describe the emotions we felt afterwards! :lol:

Please click the thumbnails for the larger versions of the photos (links to high-res versions are within the gallery).

The type and quality of bristles a makeup brush has plays a HUGE role in the color payoff of whatever product you are applying. Synthetic bristles usually pick up more pigment compared to natural bristles and supposedly deliver a “less natural” finish, but it still greatly depends on how good the bristles are regardless of whether they are synthetic or natural. So, the next time you feel unsatisfied with how your blush, eyeshadow, foundation, or whatever makeup article appeared on your skin, don’t blame it all on the product. Check the brush you used and compare how the product applies when you use different brushes. What’s your verdict?

Why the makeup tip above? Because I was so unsatisfied with how the NARS Orgasm blush (yes, the really well-pigmented NARS blush cult favorite) appeared on my cheeks! It was more visible in person, but jeez… I used a high-definition camera and I could still hardly see it in the photos. The brush I used, for your information, was the Body Shop’s blush brush. I hadn’t used my Body Shop brushes in a while so I thought of giving my Sigma brushes a rest, and boy, did I notice the difference! Proof?

Photo taken with the Apple MacBook Air 2013's FaceTime HD Camera with no post-processing

P.S. Holy shit my face was so thin in the old photo WHAT HAPPENED WHY DID I GAIN
SO MUCH WEIGHT IN A MATTER OF 2-3 MONTHS OMG THANK YOU THESIS REALLY THANKS.

The photo above was taken last August 31 (please don’t mind my boyfriend LOL) with just my MacBook Air’s FaceTime HD camera, and the color in my cheeks was still very apparent hours after application. To think I have horribly oily skin and I live in a country with an awful tropical climate! So much wow for the Sigma F40 Angled Contour brush. To say that it’s my favorite blush brush (along with the Sigma F10 blush brush) is an understatement.

I’d also like to give props to the MAC Pro Longwear Concealer I used. Compare my under-eye area on the first set of photos to my under-eye area on the old photo from August 2013, where I wasn’t wearing any concealer (FYI I actually have even darker circles now because I haven’t been sleeping well for such a long time already). Amazing, right? It’s also really good for oily skin types, too—it isn’t as easy to blend as the MAC Studio Fix Concealer (so you need to be really quick with application), but it doesn’t settle in the creases of the skin around my eye area even all throughout the day. Just what I needed!

How about you lovelies, what’s your favorite blush brush and concealer? x

Cosmetics Used

  • FACE
    • Kiehl’s Herbal Blue Moisturizer
    • MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
    • MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation in NC35
    • MAC Blot Powder in Medium
  • EYEBROWS
    • MAC Eye Brows in Lingering
    • MAC Brow Set in Girl Boy
  • LIPS
    • Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm
    • MAC Pink Pearl Pop cremesheen lipstick
  • CHEEKS
    • NARS Orgasm powder blush
  • HAIR
    • TIGI Bed Head Some Like It Hot Serum

11 thoughts on “FOTD: MAC Pink Pearl Pop and NARS Orgasm (25/10/2013)

  1. Haha glad you feel better :D the pink pearl is so delicate and pretty, it’s the perfect soft pink shade! :D You are a natural beauty so it just accentuates that. Lovely <3

    • Thank you! I like how it looks like a lip gloss, too, and I’m not even fond of lip gloss. :lol: You spoil me with too much compliments haha I’m flattered!

    • Thank you! My face blew up in size, though, thanks to frappuccino overdose HAHAHA. And yeah, I’m really glad we got to submit! If we didn’t, that would’ve been so much hard work down the drain. :cry:

    • Hi Victoria! Thank you so much! I’m flattered. :lol: And TBH, there are shades that make me look like Nicki Minaj (in a really bad way) too.. not the bright pinks, but the really pale pinks. I’m sure you can find a bright pink shade that would work on you! ;)

      Nice seeing you here, BTW! x

  2. Pingback: Happy Skin “Shut Up & Kiss Me” and “Get Cheeky with Me:” Pictures, Swatches, and Reviews | Erika's Secret Closet

Leave a Reply

