Happy Skin “Shut Up & Kiss Me” and “Get Cheeky with Me:” Pictures, Swatches, and Reviews

Around sometime last week (I think), I read a post by Carina of Softly Sometimes that featured a concealer by Happy Skin. I had never heard of the brand before that blog post, but I was really intrigued by it because her review began not-so-enthusiastically yet it still ended on a really positive note. Plus points because it was purchased from The Beauty Bar (which had a branches really close to where I live and where I go to school), so I promised myself I would get something from Happy Skin the next time I came across any of their branches!

…I think my friend-slash-thesis mate read my mind, though, because when he handed me his Christmas gift (we sort of came up with a Kris Kringle thing but since we were just 4 members in the group, we all bought gifts for everyone instead), it was a gift bag from The Beauty Bar. I didn’t think it would be anything from Happy Skin since The Beauty Bar carried a lot of other more well-known brands, so imagine how surprised and happy I was when I opened it! The lipstick (more like lip crayon, actually) and blush came in really lovely pink hues that perfectly suited my skin tone, too (or so I’d like to believe). Thanks Arty! 😆

Taken with the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS with minimal post-processing

Now, I have been a fan of NARS cosmetics for quite a while now and I can say I’m really used to their rather naughty yet reasonable product names (e.g. Orgasm powder blush for that post-orgasm glow, Deep Throat powder blush for… yeah that, and others LOL), but the names of the items I got are entirely different things altogether—they’re flirty in a cute, teenage, butterflies-in-your-stomach kind of way, unlike the sultry effect achieved by the NARS products we all know and love.


Shut Up and Kiss Me in First Kiss is described as a “moisturizing lippie,” but it’s more of a lip crayon that’s very similar to Clinique’s chubby sticks. The color is a hot candy pink on its own, but when applied on the lips, it shows a tinge of coral (but the hot candy pink shade remains dominant).

Taken with the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS with minimal post-processing

HAPPY SKIN SHUT UP AND KISS ME IN FIRST KISS REVIEW
Packaging: 5.0/5.0
Pigmentation: 5.0/5.0
Application: 5.0/5.0
Wear: 5.0/5.0
Longevity: 5.0/5.0
TOTAL: 5.0/5.0

…obviously I really liked the lip crayon! That’s the first time I gave a perfect rating for a lip product, I think? Probably because even though I don’t really feel like it’s hydrating and moisturizing as its name suggests, it definitely wasn’t drying in any way, plus a lot of other good things: it was so pigmented and opaque and it lasted the whole day… comfortably. Tell me, really, who doesn’t want that in a lip product? 😉

I have no qualms whatsoever about its packaging—it’s pink and it looks similar to how Clinique’s chubby sticks are packaged but it’s cuter, yet still not overly cute and girly like Benefit’s packaging is, which some people hate (I don’t, though). I also like that you don’t have to sharpen it like NARS’ lip pencils because we all know that sharpening wastes a lot of product and is rather troublesome.

Its pigmentation was incredibly opaque and the color payoff was a delight. It had a bit of micro-shimmer, but it was not overly shimmery that it looked like a glitter lip color. With relation to application, the micro-shimmer couldn’t be felt at all because there was no roughness whatsoever, and it took just one swipe to get a full coverage (but I did two for good measure, and to make it darker).

Speaking of application, it was easily buildable and also effortless as it neither tugged nor pulled on my lip. Props because when I tested the lip crayon, I have to admit that my lips weren’t in perfect condition: I hadn’t exfoliated it for quite a while and they were peeling a bit, but those didn’t hinder the application at all—matter-of-fact, application was really smooth.

The wear factor was equally impressive as well. It didn’t settle into lip lines, and if it did, it wasn’t noticeable at all. There was color transfer at first, of course, but it wasn’t like with the NYX lip cremes where the color transfer was continuous all throughout the day. I also really loved how it felt like I wasn’t wearing any lip product on.

Lastly, what I loved the most about it was its wear time—I remember touching up just once the whole day, and I was out from 10:30AM to 7-8PM. I didn’t even have to touch up, honestly, but I just felt like it because I retouched my whole face. The wear time was probably 7-8 hours with minimal fading that I barely noticed, because even if it faded the tint it left was a lovely pink that was almost completely opaque.


Get Cheeky With Me in First Kiss is a powder blush with a sheer satin finish. It doesn’t look like a hot candy pink at all in the pan, but how it looks like in the pan sure is similar to how the Shut Up and Kiss Me in First Kiss looks like when it’s on my lips—a bright warm pink with a slight hint of coral. It’s a very faded pink when applied, though.

Taken with the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS with minimal post-processing

HAPPY SKIN GET CHEEKY WITH ME IN FIRST KISS REVIEW
Packaging: 3.0/5.0
Pigmentation: 3.0/5.0
Application: 3.5/5.0
Wear: 4.0/5.0
Longevity: 3.0/5.0
TOTAL: 3.1/5.0

Unfortunately, I didn’t like the blush as much as I fell head over heels for the lip crayon. If you check out the photos where I used the products later, you can see that it’s barely noticeable on my cheek, and I already used my favorite blush brush, the Sigma F40 Large Angled Contour brush at that (if you remember, I raved about that brush over here).

The packaging was definitely my least favorite among all the other factors—not because it didn’t come boxed, but because its packaging as a blush is the box itself. I didn’t mind the design and that the ingredients and description of the blush were on the back of the blush itself, but what I didn’t like was that it was in a high-end type of cardboard packaging. That makes it really vulnerable to creases and damages if you just stash it in your makeup bag, and I’m really OC with keeping my belongings looking good as new. 😆 It also came with a small blush brush, BTW, but I didn’t consider that while rating this.

The pigmentation was also quite disappointing, because even though it looks really pigmented in the pan, it isn’t as pigmented on the cheek, which leads to exerting more effort during application—I had to swipe my blush brush multiple times on the product and apply it with a heavy hand before I got the color to show. The powder also wasn’t as finely milled as most blushes I’ve tried.

When I finally got the blush to show on my cheek, I found that the wear was okay in a sense that it was matte while in the pan but it appeared like a sheer satin on the skin—it neither magnified the pores nor mattified them to the extent that it looked dry and dull.

The longevity was equally as unimpressive as the pigmentation, because even though I exerted so much effort getting the color to show, it didn’t last long on my cheek. The wear time was probably around 2-3 hours—it could be longer on less oily skin, but I have blushes that last 6-8 hours on the same oily skin I tested Get Cheeky With Me on.


Here are some photos I took while I was wearing both the lip crayon and the blush (you may click the thumbnails for links to the full versions of the photo). I used just my iPhone 5’s front camera, though, because I was running late for school that day and I ended up doing my makeup in the car (I know, it’s dangerous)… 😆

Okay, I just realized that I put my life at risk often because in addition to frequently doing my makeup while driving, I also happen to be really fond of taking selfies while stuck in traffic… oops.

Here are the other cosmetics I used: Guerlain Météorites Light-Diffusing Primer to prime my skin, MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC20 for my foundation,  MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20 for my concealer, MAC Studio Fix Powder + Foundation in NC25 for my setting powder, Guerlain Météorites Perles Illuminating Powder in 02 Teint Beige for my finishing powder, and MAC Eye Brows in Lingering and MAC Brow Set in Girl Boy for my eyebrows.

So… what do you think of the Happy Skin lip and cheek makeup I just reviewed? Do you have them too, or are you planning to try them out? If you’re thinking of getting them for yourself and you have any questions whatsoever, feel free to ask me below! 😉

42 thoughts on “Happy Skin “Shut Up & Kiss Me” and “Get Cheeky with Me:” Pictures, Swatches, and Reviews

  1. I love that lip colour on you, it looks so pretty and a really nice texture! The contrast between the pink lip and the monochrome shirt and jewellery is also very nice. Love the shirt, by the way!
    Also, if you’re in stationary traffic and taking selfies it doesn’t count as dangerous driving. Because you’re not driving. At least, that’s what I tell myself when I use my phone in a traffic jam haha xx

    • Thank you very much! And yes, I do love the lip color. Good thing my skin color cooperated with it.

      Well, a girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do, right? Kidding lol there’s no excuse for my irresponsibility! 😆

  2. I really love the packaging, it’s so cute! And the lip color is so pretty on you! Also, I really want to do collabs on my blog from now on and because I really love your blog and because you’re just so lovely I wondered if you would be interested in collabing with me? You can find more information in my latest post! X

  3. Yay, I’m glad you liked the lip crayons! I reviewed two of the lighter colors already, actually. 🙂 The blush was something I wasn’t interested in getting, among all the products there.

    • I haven’t read your review of the other lip crayons! I’ll check them out as soon as I have the time. And it really is a good thing you didn’t bother getting the blush! Way too many other blushes perform so much better. 🙂

    • Thanks Jacquelyn! I’m glad colors as bold as this look good on me because I really think they’re lovely. And thanks for the tag as well—I’ll do it ASAP! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippie in First Kiss | Flabs Rule the World!

Leave a Reply

