Hair and Makeup Stint for Tricia Castillo (31/03/2014)

I started a beauty blog because of my love of hoarding makeup and cosmetics in addition to experimenting with them on my own face—I had no formal background on makeup education (I still don’t), and I felt like even though I may have the skills to do makeup, I had yet to earn the right to do makeup on other people and charge them for it (I still do).

Fortunately, someone thought otherwise and I was given the opportunity to do hair and makeup for a graduation ball occasion! I kind of failed miserably with the eyeliner (at first it was okay, but the client blinked and we didn’t have the time to erase the eyeliner and redo it, so she requested that I just thicken the eyeliner overall), but I think the rest of the makeup seemed fine (the lips could have been better though, had I used an exfoliant on it prior to applying lip color).

Check out the photos below! 🙂

Tricia Castillo: before and after. I really wish we had the time to redo her eyeliner! I feel like the whole look could have been at least ten times prettier if the eyeliner was on point…

Me at work! My makeup brush tool belt got me feeling like a professional makeup artist LOL. I wasn’t able to get photos taken of me when I was doing Tricia’s hair, though. Too bad!

Here are the makeup items I used:

  • Benefit The POREfessional Primer
  • MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC20
  • MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
  • MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium
  • NARS Highlighting Blush in Albatross
  • NARS Bronzing Powder in Laguna
  • MAC Powder Blush in Pink Swoon
  • MAC Beauty Powder Blush in Formal
  • Guerlain Météorites Perles in 02 Teint Beige
  • MAC Fix+ Spray
  • MAC Eye Brows in Brunette
  • MAC Brow Set in Beguile
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Guerlain Crazy Paris Eye Palette
  • Urban Decay Naked 2 Eye Palette
  • Urban Decay Eye Pencil in Perversion
  • MAC Prep + Prime Lash
  • Benefit They’re Real! Mascara
  • MAC Prep + Prime Lip
  • MAC Lipstick in Mehr (Matte)
  • Benefit Ultra Plush Lip Gloss in Dandelion

The eyeliner looks so much better from afar, no?

Took photos of my annoyingly girly glittery pink train case, and Toffee just couldn’t resist the opportunity to steal the spotlight. Such a camwhore, this dog…


I have two remaining pre-booked hair and makeup stints (by pre-booked, I mean they’re for a junior-senior prom and a graduation ball come early 2015) and I can’t wait for them! Nothing beats earning money from something you enjoy doing!

How about you, my lovely readers—have you done hair and makeup for someone else before, and were you as nervous as I was the first time around? Go ahead and share your experiences on the comment box below! 🙂

P.S. I was supposed to post this last April 30 (I had the photos post-processed and all already) but as usual, my poor time management skills + life happened. Hopefully I’d be able to focus on blogging now, since I have no other remaining responsibilities re: work and school. 😆

11 thoughts on “Hair and Makeup Stint for Tricia Castillo (31/03/2014)

    • Thank you! I still think I could’ve done better had my nervousness not gotten to me, but lesson learned, at least. 😆 How is makeup school so far? I haven’t logged on to WordPress in quite a while!

Leave a Reply

