Club Balai Isabel, Batangas (May 15-16, 2014)

Taken with the iPhone 5 back camera with minor post-processing on Pixelmator and VSCOcam

A little more than a month ago, my best friend was still on her summer break and we were frustrated over not having gone out of town for summer yet (that wasn’t a problem in my case because I knew I was done with my undergraduate degree… forever… mwahahahaha). That led me to looking for places to stay in in Batangas, and thankfully I came across this gem called Club Balai Isabel. I had never heard of the place before I went to their website, but the moment that I did, they were throwing a 70% off promo for the last of summer. How lucky!

Taken with the Samsung Galaxy S4 Back Camera with minimal post-processing on Pixelmator and VSCOcam

Now, this was supposedly just a photo post of our trip, but then I thought… why not make it a review as well, in case some of you guys had been thinking of checking in at the same place? 🙂

CLUB BALAI ISABEL RATING SUMMARY
Price: 5.0/5.0
Accommodation: 4.5/5.0
Outdoor Facilities: 4.0/5.0
Customer Service: 3.0/5.0
Food: 5.0/5.0
TOTAL: 4.3/5.0


Photos taken from the Club Balai Isabel website.

I gave the price a perfect score because we got a suite for a mere fraction of the price—it’s listed as Php6325.00 a night, but we got it at 70% off so that’s less than Php2000.00! At first it seemed too good to be true, but apparently they really are that generous with their promos. I also love how we still got the full price’s worth even though we paid just the mere 30% (+ Php1100.00 because the room capacity is 3 pax and you pay Php550.00/head extra).

The accommodation was near-perfect, too—it was very spacious and everything inside the suite was in tip-top condition: the beds, the air-conditioning, the shower… I just didn’t like how the sink supposedly inside the comfort room was right outside the comfort room’s door (including the mirror), and that that particular faucet let out very little water. I ended up brushing my  teeth at the kitchen sink. Oh well, minor setback. 😆

The outdoor facilities were great—the swimming pools were well-maintained, and the venue itself was well-kempt in general.  They even offered water sports such as jet skiing, banana boating, pedal boating, and kayaking. I subtracted 1 point, though, because (1) both the jet skis we drove were low on fuel; (2) the comfort room near the smaller pool smelled; and (3) they didn’t have the most basic water gear in their souvenir store (really, it would’ve profited them if they stocked up on water-proof phone sleeves).

The customer service, however, is something I have a bunch to complain about. First and foremost, despite having listed multiple contact numbers on their website, they didn’t attend to any of them (which was really weird because when we arrived at the front desk, there were so many phones and so many receptionists were talking to someone). They also had a Twitter account no one replied to me to, and a Facebook account that took them 24+ hours to reply to my message to. Also, they didn’t have a reliable means to measure the time clients spent jet skiing, so we ended up extending our 30-minute jet ski rental to an hour. The lifeguard by the small pool was exceptionally nice and hospitable, though!

Lastly, the food… oh boy, the food was good. Their local pizzeria, called “Isabel’s Panaderia and Pizzeria,” served really delicious pizza—probably one of the best I have ever tried. The drinks at their local bar were also delicious, and I loved how even those without alcohol in them were as well-crafted. The restaurant counterpart of the pizzeria offered an extensive menu as well, and although we were able to try just a few of them, they were delicious nonetheless.


That pretty much concludes my review! Check out more of the photos we took below!

I’m definitely checking in again… hopefully at the suite with the jacuzzi the next time around, hee-hee!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post and found the review useful! Feel free to leave comments and/or questions through the comment box below. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Club Balai Isabel, Batangas (May 15-16, 2014)

  1. Pingback: iCove Beach Hotel, Subic (19-20/05/2014) | Erika's Secret Closet

Leave a Reply

