Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu (July 8-9, 2014)

beach-and-hotel-exterior

Photo taken from Travel Trilogy.

The Mövenpick Hotel in Mactan Island is a branch of the renowned Mövenpick Hotels and Resorts group, a tried and tested brand of hotels I have had the privilege of experiencing in a number of other countries when I was younger.

Anyway, I mentioned I’d make a review of our hotel stay on the blog post about our Cebu trip some weeks back, so here it is!

MÖVENPICK HOTEL MACTAN CEBU RATING SUMMARY
Price: 2.5/5.0
Accommodation: 4.0/5.0
Outdoor Facilities: 5.0/5.0
Customer Service: 4.5/5.0
Food: 4.5/5.0
TOTAL: 4.1/5.0


Photos taken from the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu official website and
the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu page on Trip Advisor.

I gave the price a low score because even though I availed of the “50% off flash sale” on their official website, I still ended up paying around Php9,500.00+ (Php7,800.00 for the room itself and Php1,700.00+ for taxes) for the twin deluxe ocean view bedroom (you’re going to be charged a deposit during check-in, BTW, but it will be refunded during check-out). Sure Mövenpick is reputable and they have excellent facilities that you can avail of and all that, but it feels like a waste if you’re on an actual vacation and not a hotel “stay-cation!” You’d feel pressured to take advantage of all the hotel facilities because of the amount of cash you shelled out…

The accommodation was well-kempt and very satisfactory, but I can think of a number of things they could improve on. First of all, I asked for an ocean view room so I expected an ocean view room, but we got a view similar to the photo above… apparently that’s already the ocean view for the twin deluxe bedroom. Second, our toilet did not have a bidet, hand shower,  or even a water scooper. I ended up using the glass for toothbrushing as a water scooper, for goodness’ sake! You’d think with a room fee as expensive as theirs, they’d have all those issues taken cared of. Maybe the Chopard toiletry kit was worth a thousand (or two)?

Photos taken from the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu official website and
the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu page on Trip Advisor.

The outdoor facilities were splendid, however, to the point that you’d feel like the 80% of the fee you’re paying goes to it. The swimming pool was large, well-decorated, clean, and very inviting, but it had nothing on the private white sand beach the hotel clientele got to enjoy. The lounges, restaurants, public restrooms, and shower rooms were also nothing short of luxurious, quite like their beautiful gym with state-of-the-art fitness equipment. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to try the gym out because I forgot to pack workout wear and trainers. They had a shuttle service to the malls, too, but I only found out about them on our fourth day in Cebu and we had already checked out by then. 😦

The hotel’s customer service was good—they had everything you could expect from a 4-to-5-star hotel like a dedicated bellboy, post-check-out luggage storage, 24/7 room service, a per-schedule shuttle service, and extremely hospitable staff, but I really wish they notified us of the shuttle service upon check-in. I should also mention that when I availed of the room service breakfast, they delivered 20 minutes late (6:30AM turned 6:50AM). I would’ve been incredibly pissed had I not also woken up late… 😆

Photos taken from the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu official website and
the Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu page on Booking.com.

Still, the food completely made up for the late service, because the waffle and caramel macchiato I ordered for breakfast were deeeelish, never mind the minuscule coffee cup. For dinner the night before, we gorged on scrumptious tapas, wine, beer, and dessert at Club Ibiza, a lovely chill spot perfect for hanging out with friends. Let me warn you about the mystery cocktail drink on their menu (I’m not sure if it was called Ibiza Surprise or something), though… it tasted bleeechhh and I only finished it because it was expensive. 😆


Here are the rest of the photos we took during our stay at Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan, Cebu!

A little camwhoring session in our room (except for the last photo—that’s in the lounge). See also: My horribly awkward outfit-of-the-day post. That is why I will never EVER be a fashion blogger! Seriously, how do fashion bloggers do what they do… 😆

Our first day in the hotel (check out their lovely swimming pool and beach!), including photos from our dinner at Club Ibiza… except I think I lost the photos of the food LOL.

My delectable room service breakfast and our attempts to make the most out of the last few hours of our stay in the hotel. I should mention that we were so lucky because the weather was perfect for the beach on that day despite the horrible stormy season!

I hope I get to visit again with my family next year! I’m pretty sure my younger brother would enjoy their water sports (and so would I… I don’t know why my friend and I didn’t try it out).

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed viewing the photos and reading through this post. Please feel free to leave a message on the comment box below! 🙂

Signature
FB | Twitter | IG | Tumblr | Ask.fm

2 thoughts on “Mövenpick Hotel, Mactan Island, Cebu (July 8-9, 2014)

    • Oh, there are A LOT of hotels in Cebu—ranging from low-end inns to posh ones like Mövenpick! If you’re more interested in exploring what Cebu has to offer more than having a “staycation,” I’d recommend Express Inn. A night there costs around just a tenth of the price of Mövenpick and the place is pretty decent, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

